My (political) debut

*wild applause from audience*

Thank you, thank you. You’re too generous, thank you. Welcome to our first post of LinguaPasta, where we invite you folks here and at home to experience my world: highly verbose, sometimes wacky (sometimes drunk), insightful, and authentic.

*takes a long bow while audience cheers with enthusiasm*

What a great way to start this series than by instilling some zealous motivation in all of you. You see, I was never a political fellow – never cared who was in power, who they liked, who they despised, who treated them to sexual favors under the Oval Office desk. It was all distant to me – wars overseas, xenophobic legislations barring residency to illegal immigrants, Social Security concerns. My mouse cursor never once hovered over the “Politics” tab on CNN.com, my car stereo never tuned to NPR fearing boring political rants, my feet never once stepped into a (rigged?) voting ballot. Maybe I was too shy and too much of a low-key person to be involved in cut-throat political debates (I was never good with debates anyways). It was always one step back to avoid confrontation, three steps back to avoid an angry Republican outraged at gay marriage.

Until now.

You see, after watching a showdown between Michael Moore and Dr. Sanjay Gupta, I became enraged. Although I haven’t seen his highly-acclaimed movie yet (although I’m anticipating to do so), I already got the gist of the movie: that we can change the current health care system in America for the better. It doesn’t have to involve bloodshed or rioting (I mean we like to think we’re all well-mannered citizens, at least I do) but just simple involvement as rightful citizens with rightful beliefs in this country.

The battle started when Sanjay Gupta aired a report in response to the Moore’s movie, citing inconsistencies and false facts in Moore’s presentation. Moore fired back at Gupta defending his movie and his facts while attacking CNN’s and the mainstream news’ credibility. Clip below:

To make the story…well…longer, the two then appeared on Larry King live, this time Moore questioning Gupta’s research. Steven Colbert summarizes the aftermath quite well in this interview with the filmmaker:
Awesome, isn’t it? Oh, but we’re only getting started, kids.

Then I saw this inspiring video, which I think, speaks for most of us Americans fed-up with the Dubya crap:

Fumed yet? Steam spewing from the top of your heads yet?

My friends, it’s time to end this. Us liberals don’t need to convince the other half to go against their leader anymore; most of them are just as fed up as well. Sure – most of it’s propaganda but what we do after absorbing this propaganda is what’s critical. Do we smile happily and then go back to our daily routine afterwards? Do we get enraged and then drive down to McDonald’s for a calorie-laden McPick-Me-Up? Most of us do and that’s why most of us don’t bother with politics; we leave it to the “experts” because apparently, as justified citizens in a society whose voices and beliefs control our own future, we don’t have the tools to possess that “expertise” (or “expert-tease” according to Dubya’s gang).

This is part of the reason why I started this blog today: to set-off a political chain reaction and inspire others to become involved. It’s not just my duty as a citizen to have to watch out for the well-being of this country but it’s a human right that I have the ability to possess and use to change the very physical and social reality I’m a part of. Sometimes I get up in the morning even though I don’t want to nor do I seem to have the zeal to live anymore and it’s because I can; sometimes I find it bloody hard to forgive all the bastards that screwed up my life but I finally find the willpower to do so because I can; sometimes I feel like I want to voice out my own opinion and make my actions as a human being matter in this world and I do so now because I can. And you can too.

How? Well how about signing an online petition to impeach the monkey from power for starters? Besides, you aren’t alone in this fight.

Whew! Okay I think that’s enough political ranting for today. I promise to be a bit more toned down next time.

Leave a comment

Filed under Politics

Leave a Reply

